Finding My Strong

Standard

I’ve never been a skinny girl and I have no desire to be one. I’m not in it to look like a model – I am in it to get healthy. I am type 2 diabetic (insulin resistant, what my doctors like to call “pre-diabetic”) and have PCOS which makes loosing weight an absolute nightmare. My body ignores (resists) insulin which we need for energy and to break down sugars and starches. Basically my body does not know what to do with the insulin in my body, doesn’t detect it, and over produces it.

I’m on medicine to control my diabetes (glucofage, metformine) and to control the cysts in my ovaries and every couple of months I have blood work and ultrasounds done. It’s a ton of fun (ok – not really). Nothing majorly life threatening here BUT I REALLY hate being on medication. My solution: kick diabetes in the butt and getf it…and OFF more medicine! A few weeks ago I had my monthly check up and my doctor was not happy with my weight (nor was I). Together we worked out a plan to bring me back down to my “normal” weight for my height and have set a goal for 6 months. I am re-launching this blog to help keep me accountable. Maybe I am the only person who reads it…maybe not! But their way it will help hold me accountable.

Now I am by no means overweight or unfit. I finished my first half-marathon in February (and fractured my ankle…but I finished in 2 hours and 50 minutes!) and am working towards the Marine Corps 10k in October as my “come back”). So journey with me as I kick diabetes in the butt AND re-kindle my love for running. Now I say “re-kindle” because there was a time when running consumed my life. I ran track in high school and to this day hold records for the 100, 200, and 400m sprints at two different high schools. I races against girls who competed nationally around the world and hold medals from both Hong Kong (under 18 nationals) and Shanghai. Things got iffy when I switched from an elite track team to a high school team when I moved from Hong Kong to Shanghai…buy my lover for running was still there! Now, many years later, I’m here to bring it back.

I absolutely love Saucony and I love their moto “Find Your Strong” so this is my attempt. Travel with me as I find my strong!

my strong
7 thoughts on “Finding My Strong

  1. Gavin Taylor

    I like your goals, motivation, plan, and manner in which you are tackling running. I can sympathize with weight and running struggles. You mentioned that you are trying to fall back in love with running. I always hated running unfortunately, so for me the main struggle starts as far back as just making the choice to get dressed to go for a run. I know I have a long way to go in my running journey. I realize that the key to making any change includes making manageable goals that are specific, achievable, and time-bound.
    “How do you eat an elephant? One bite at a time.” Creighton Abrams
    You seem like a woman with great determination and the ability to persevere. I have every faith that you will achieve you running and health goals. I look forward to reading the posts as you proceed on your journey. I anticipate being inspired by what I read in your posts 🙂

Leave a Reply

