“The ‘A’ Word” – Dear Diary #5

Accountability. The “A” word. It’s got to be one of the most aggravating but important things about running. If you are going to start running or working out you need people who are going to hold you accountable. Why? Because there are going to be days where we make any and every excuses not to run, or nights where putting on your PJ’ s after a long shower and baking a batch of cookies just sounds so much better than running. But guess what? We need those people who love us enough to say “hey – you said you wanted to go workout!” for me that person comes in the form of my husband. Sometimes I try to bride him and say things like “oh, I am going to make cookies tonight” and hope he forgets that I haven’t run yet…but it does not work. We NEED those people.

Now if you asked me last night if I needed my accountability buddy I would have said NO! NO! NO! NO! And then I could have pouted and made you feel really, really, really bad about making me go running at 10 PM at night. Yes…10 PM at night. How did that happen? The morning was busy and I did not get a chance to go to the farmers market or get my Illy coffee (I know, tragic) and as soon as I got home Max and I went straight over to a friend’s new apartment to help him move it. He’s a wonderful friend to my husband and I so we wouldn’t have it any other way. He helped move us into our new place when we got married while I died in the corner with the flu. Moving day included hours at Ikea furnishing his new place and loading it all up to the Uhaul and moving it into this new place. We assembled most of the furniture and started organizing his apartment and before we knew it, it was 9:00 PM. Max’s back is hurting him today – old man! Before we left home yesterday morning I told Max, “you have to make sure I go running no matter what time we get home.” When I made this statement I has imagined being home by 6 PM and getting in a nice pre-dinner run. NOPE!

1000752_10151749638242240_271188726_n Max and Tim picking our furniture at the Swedish embassy (aka Ikea)

Of course, Max remembered, and didn’t let me budge. He sacrificed his desire to go to Five Guys Burgers and Fries (sorry hun) so I could get home and hit the gym. 1 mile was our compromise. 1 mile does not seem so horrible but 1 mile at 10:00 PM after moving all day and being fueled by nothing but 2 cups of coffee and 3 pieces of pizza. Yeah. That 1 mile was rough. I was the only person in the gym, I turned on TLC to Here Comes Honey Boo Boo (I know, I have no shame), I threw my keys onto the ground like a little kid, and I sent the treadmill up for a mile. It felt like an eternity and I was running at a pace that was shamefully slow…I might as well have been walking…but I did it. Max was right – I felt 110% better when I got home…and when I opened the door he was standing there with a fresh made chocolate chip cookie. Alright, that was worth it! More importantly, it helped gear me up and keep my legs strong for a great 4 miler today!

The point of my story? We ALL need those people to help us! We need a system (or multiple systems) of holding ourselves accountable. Yes, we need to be able to hold OURSEVLES accountable but sometimes that’s not enough. For me I have my husband and this blog. By telling people about my journey and my goals I have YOU all to hold me accountable too. When I think about my workouts I think about how I need to practice what I preach and when I think about what kind of foods I am putting into my body I think about whether or not that’s something I want to promote to my readers. Promoting really delish food – heck yeah! Promoting Twinkies? Maybe not!

So thank YOU for helping me stay accountable!

533311_10151608892722146_1073860376_n

Leave a Reply

