You’ve got to re-start somewhere…

Standard
This year has been a rough one for little ‘ol triathlete me. I’ve fallen out of shape, gained back weight that I worked hard to work off, and slowedddddddddd down to a painful speed. My passion is back and a combo of running/biking outside again and morning gym workouts will get me back there but I really wish I could rub a magic genie in a bottle and get back to my lowest “race weight” if you will. It doesn’t mean I have not competed or workouts out this last year – I just have not had my heart in it and my body took notice.
Yesterday I ran the Parks 10k – the furthest I’ve run this year. Boy oh boy was it the wake up call that I needed! My only goal was to not finish dead last and I did that…but barely. I was using run-walk-run before I even hit the first mile marker and my shins were screaming by mile 2. This is a race that I could have done in my sleep a year ago. So what’s changed?
1) I stopped seriously running. I am talking planned out routes with intervals some days and maintenance miles on others. 
2) I have done little to no weight training. I have not gotten my butt into the gym and I need to.
3) I stopped learning. I used to be glued to info on form, nutrition, pace, techniques…but I could not tell you the last time I bought a Runners World magazine. Actually it was at the airport a few weeks ago…but that was the first one I have bought all year!
It’s gonna take time to get back down to by goal weight and form…but if I don’t stick to my plan I’ll never get there. If anything, the 10k I ran this weekend reminded me that we all have to start somewhere (or re-start…).
30190658173_ab224ab4e8_o
Leave a Reply

