Swim, Bike, Run…(sort of…like a turtle…)

Standard

After a great weekend celebrating friends, family, and birthdays I had the chance to compete in the City Island Triathlon. It was an odd distance for me with the swim and bike a bit longer than a usual sprint. .8 mile swim in a river, followed by the a 14.5 mile bike, and a 3.2 mile run — my goal was to just finish under 2 hours (transitions and all). I knew I could do the swim in under 20, I knew I could do the bike in under 45, and I knew I would fall apart in the run. But last night as I broke down my results I really broke down mentally along side them.

…I was 3rd in my age group heading out of the swim and spent barely a minute in transition and that included downing a Gu…

…I climbed up to 2nd in my AG by the time I got off the bike and again about a minute in transitions…

…then came the run and I dropped down to 9th…

I am a slow runner and have gained weight that I know doesn’t help any of the 3 disciplines but seeing me drop so hard in the run hurt. I am an OK swimming, a stronger rider, and a horrible runner – and that needs to change. I know I am capable of a podium finish and one day I want to look back at this post and remember how far I have come.

Up until that point I was running on a high!! Despite a long delay for the swim start I had a great swim. I always have a slight panic attack in open water swims where even with goggles on you see nothing but brown (yuck). After some deep breaths, mantras, and back strokes, I got myself in gear and just followed the red bouys down the river.Not seeing any of the next waves swim caps around you is always a good sign!  I felt strong coming out of the water even though I used my legs too much and not enough of my arms (always a swim goal of mine to save my legs). Not swimming for a year will do that to you! Heading on the bike I was passing people left and right and mentally really strong. Coming into T2 and seeing my bestie and little bestie on the side of the transition area helped! Then I headed on the run and made it maybe .5 miles before my shins and calves cramped HARD. From there it was a slow march to the end. I finished 1:49 – 11 minutes ahead of my goal – but I wouldn’t have done it without the help of a teen tri-team member named Emily. She helped me run-walk-run to the end! At the finish her dad was standing there running along the chute cheering her on (because he had finished well ahead of us) and I couldn’t help but think of me and my dad — he was just like him. I told her to be proud of the fact that her old man kicks her butt and that even at 28…I still have not been able to beat mine!

The best part of coming into the finish chute was seeing even more first and little besties there! Kyle, Addi, Doug, Caro, Leslie, and Baby J were the icing on top of my first tri in almost 2 years – and so were the cinnamon roll pancakes we had afterwards.

High: Getting back into tri racing and having my friends there with me

Low: the run

20121416_10155765071357240_5033872156035790727_o20116739_10155765071122240_6012024493866686127_o20045511_10155765068982240_673265720936262526_o.jpg20017666_10155765068117240_7920054051627492910_o-e1500337287915.jpg

Leave a Reply

